Culinary showcase Obsession 18 gets underway at Northcote

nigel haworthNIGEL Haworth’s Obsession 18 is underway with 21 world class chefs who have achieved 16 Michelin stars between them gathering at Northcote in Lancashire.

The celebrated culinary showcase takes place over 18 nights from 18th January to 4th February 2018 and sees chefs travelling from diverse countries including India, Russia, Japan, and Mexico, as well as the UK, to cook their unique Obsession Menus.  They are:

• Thursday 18th January – Jason Atherton (3 x 1 star restaurants) – The Social Company, London, UK
• Friday 19th January – Gary Usher – Sticky Walnut, Chester, UK
• Saturday 20th January – Manish Mehrotra (Asia Top 50 – 30 and World Top 50– 78) – Indian Accent, New Delhi, India
• Sunday 21st January – Jean-Philippe Blondet (3 stars) – Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester, London, UK
• Monday 22nd January – Juan Amador (2 stars) – Amador’s, Vienna, Austria
• Tuesday 23rd January – Lisa Goodwin-Allen – (1 star) – Northcote, Lancashire, UK
• Wednesday 24th January – Daniel Calvert – Belon, Hong Kong
• Thursday 25th January – Hiroshi Nakamichi (3 stars) – Restaurant Molière, Sapporo, Japan
• Friday 26th January – George Blogg (1 star) – Gravetye Manor, Sussex, UK
• Saturday 27th January – Larry Jayasekara (1 star) – Petrus, London, UK
• Sunday 28th January – Tom Kitchin (1 star) –The Kitchin, Edinburgh, Scotland
• Monday 29th January – Diego Hernandez Baquedano (Latin America Top 50 – 39) Corazón de Tierra, Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico; Francisco Ruano, Alcalde, Guadalajara, Mexico; Jorge Vallejo (World Top 50 – 22) Quintonil, Mexico City, Mexico
• Tuesday 30th January – Martin Milesi, Una, London, UK
• Wednesday 31st January – Jorge Vallejo (World Top 50 – 22) – Quintonil, Mexico City, Mexico
• Thursday 1st February – Tommy Banks (1 star) – The Black Swan at Oldstead, Yorkshire, UK
• Friday 2nd February – Berezutskiy Twins (formerly World Top 100 – 92 – Twins) – Twins Garden, Moscow, Russia
• Saturday 3rd February – Nelly Robinson – Nel Restaurant, Sydney, Australia; Kirk Haworth – Plates London, London, UK
• Sunday 4th February – Nigel Haworth (1 star) – Northcote, Lancashire, UK

“This year we’re celebrating 18 years of Obsession and it just keeps getting more exciting each year,” said Haworth. “We’re bringing different styles of cooking, different cultures and different flavours to Northcote for both our guests and our kitchen team to experience.

“Sharing ideas has got to be one of the most important and inspirational things we can do in cookery and we’re in a privileged position that the Obsession 18 chefs are open to sharing their ideas with us.

“I’m especially looking forward to the South American influences, as well as the usual array of UK talent. We have some great young English chefs cooking such as Tommy Banks, Gary Usher, Nelly Robinson and my son, Kirk Haworth who will bring a really youthful, new wave feel to proceedings.”

Guests also enjoy a Louis Roederer Brut Premier champagne reception and have the option of adding a wine flight to the dinner with wines chosen by  managing director Craig Bancroft to pair with the unique flavours and ingredients of each course every night.

Magazine3.com @copy NewspaperTimes - All rights reserved