Winners announced in this year’s Cumbria Tourism Awards

askham hall taste of cumbria awardWINNERS of this year’s Cumbria Tourism Awards have been announced at a ceremony held at Cartmel Racecourse.

Each category winner received a certificate and a specially-commissioned award handcrafted by award-winning architectural and sculptural metalworkers Chris Brammall in Ulverston.

Most of the winners will go on to represent the county at the Visit England Awards for Excellence in 2018.

This year, in addition to the awards, the 2017 Bernard Gooch Tourism Personality of the Year Award was awarded to Ian Stephens, managing director of Cumbria Tourism, who stands down at the end of this month.

“I would like to thank everyone who was involved in making last night such a fantastic success and came together to celebrate Cumbria’s £2.72bn tourism industry,” he said.

Exceptional quality

“The 2017 winners and finalists represent the very best of what Cumbria has to offer and we should all be very proud of the outstanding product we have here in Cumbria.

“The range of exceptional quality available keeps us firmly on the global map as a world class visitor destination and with World Heritage inscription soon to be unveiled we need to keep up the investment and maximise the new opportunities that are just around the corner.”

The Taste Cumbria Award was presented to Askham Hall, near Penrith, which also won the title in 2015.  Owned by the Lowther family since the 1800s, it only opened as a ‘restaurant with rooms’ four years ago.

Head Chef Richard Swale said: “There is an incredibly high standard of food and restaurants in Cumbria, so the fact that have won this award for the second time in three years is fantastic. It really is a team effort and we want to continue innovating and building Askham’s reputation nationally and internationally.”

Charles Lowther added: “I’m so proud of Richard and his kitchen team, who have built up a reputation for high-quality food and service in a relatively short time. Our unpretentious style is also quite unique and reflects our desire to be authentic and locally rooted in the Cumbrian landscape.”


Tourism Experience of the Year: Bay Cycle Way, Morecambe Bay Partnership

Tourism Event of the Year: Go Herdwick Public Art Trail

Wedding Venue of the Year: The Villa Levens

Taste Cumbria Award: Askham Hall, Askham

Tourism Pub of the Year: The Three Shires Inn, Little Langdale

B&B of the Year: The Malabar, Sedbergh

Guest Accommodation of the Year: Hazel Bank Country House, Borrowdale

Small Hotel of the Year: Cragwood Country House Hotel, Windermere

Large Hotel of the Year: The Swan Hotel & Spa, Newby Bridge

New Tourism Business Award: Cliffhanger Rooms, Newby Bridge

Sheila Hensman Award for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence: Mel Ibbotson, Leathes Head Hotel, Borrowdale

Sustainable Tourism Award: The Quiet Site, Ullswater

Self-Catering Provider of the Year: The Halston, Carlisle

Self-Catering Property of the Year: Hart Barn, Patterdale

Visitor Attraction of the Year: Mirehouse and Gardens, Bassenthwaite

Large Visitor Attraction of the Year: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle

Holiday Park of the Year: Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, Ambleside

The Bernard Gooch Award for Tourism Personality of the Year was also presented by last year’s recipient of the award Nigel Wilkinson, Managing Director of Windermere Lake Cruises.

PICTURE: Chris Curry, Nico Chieze, Diane Butcher and Richard Swale from Askham Hall, with award sponsor Andy Scott, Enterprise Answers @copy NewspaperTimes - All rights reserved